Interview With The Hard Hitting Harvard Lineman Turned Oil & Gas Fraud Attorney, Mitch Little (By Paccosi)

Thanks Mitch for taking the time out of your busy schedule, would you mind telling our readers a little bit about your practice and background?

I am an associate with the law firm of Scheef & Stone, LLP in Dallas, Texas. I practice commercial litigation, and a large part of my practice is devoted to oil and gas and securities fraud. I graduated from Harvard University with Bachelor’s degree in Government and received my law degree from the University of Texas. I have first-chair trial experience and have a good track record of obtaining rescission for oil and gas investors.

2- I heard you played Defensive End on the Harvard football team, what’s more difficult sacking a quarterback or sacking an unscrupolous operator/promoter? Which one is more enjoyable?

Sacking a quarterback is more difficult. Taking down a promoter is more rewarding. Quarterbacks get up. If I’m doing my job right, sometimes a promoter won’t get up.

3- With respect to oil/gas fraud, it appears people do not understand that many promoters do not structure their deals correctly. Please Explain.

There’s really no “right” or “wrong” way to structure a deal as a promoter. “Fair” or “unfair” is probably a better comparison. As an investor in oil and gas, you have to know going in that there is a giant risk of losing your entire investment. Oil and gas is extremely risky, and you shouldn’t invest money you can’t afford to lose. Most investors want a fighting chance to make money; unfortunately, many promoted oil and gas investments do not provide the investor with that fighting chance. If you understand the industry–and you can think like a crook–you can tell the difference.

4- What is a Reg D offering?